top of page

Photographing snakes in freedom

Photographing snakes is not an easy task, as I commented in a previous post on this blog. In this case, I would like to share how a session with a Hemorrhois hippocrepis was developed. This species, although not poisonous, is one of the most characteristic species in the south of the Iberian Peninsula, not hesitating to bite as soon as it has the chance. After a few preparations to photograph birds, I cross the road in the middle of the afternoon with a male specimen of little meter and something, at that time the temperature causes these specimens to move at great speed disappearing almost instantly from our sight. Luckily I found her in a clear area and I was able to get in her way, in order to get her to relax after several attempts to escape and try to catch up with me by giving me some mouthful at last I got her to relax and adopt a position that I liked to take a picture For the realization of a photo, I like that the camera is located in front of the eyes, something complicated with this group of species, when you find them crawling on the ground and you have to lie, literally, on the ground, in front of a copy that Just think about fleeing and biting you, there were several attempts to photograph her, forcing me to get up and wait again for her to adopt a photogenic position. Using an old trick of the snake charmers, he moved one hand while with the other he adjusted and shot the camera, the hand in motion serves so that his reptilian brain clearly fixes the target of his attack by distracting it from attacking me in the face, it is always preferable a bite in the hand than in the face. At the end after a few minutes, she followed his path and I mine Although I did not get a picture with the quality that I usually look for, I am used as a template for this new blog post, which I hope will be helpful in snake photography.

bottom of page